I Hope You Get Fired

Bombshell news comes this afternoon that Terry Heaton will be leaving consulting firm AR&D at the end of the year.

 

Regular readers of this blog will know that anything good that I have written has some basis in Heaton’s writings.  He promises in this post that he will continue to write.  I sure hope he does.

Many years ago I was lucky to sit down for coffee with Mr. Heaton.  Among the things we talked about was my frustration with the way old model local broadcasters were evolving (or not evolving) their digital weather strategies.  At one point in the conversation Mr. Heaton took a long pause, clearly trying to decide if he should make his next comment or not.  After a few moments he looked up and said, “In some ways, I hope you get fired.”  I knew exactly what he meant.  Sometimes adversity forces you to do your best work.  Those words have kept me going many, many, many times.

There is a saying, “Pioneers get slaughtered, settlers prosper.”  The safe thing to do is to be a settler, but without the pioneers, the settlers would have no place to settle.

I’m looking forward to seeing what Mr. Heaton, the pioneer, will do next.  I will be following.

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, Texas Cable News. Host, Weather Insiders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

