You Can Come Out Now

I got a nice letter from a viewer the other day that reminded me to do something I try to do often, but need to remember more frequently.

After a severe weather event in my market the viewer wanted to say thank you for not trying to panic everyone (a post for another time) but also commented on the fact that I took some time to sound the “all clear” after the storm had moved through a particular area.

It is easy to forget that after sending people to the bathroom with the sofa cushions, that many of them might not know when it is safe to come out.  They count on us to tell them when to go in there…and many are very appreciative when we tell them they can come out.

You might get a nice letter (and if you are lucky like I was…there might be a second one to your boss).

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Can Come Out Now

  1. jimmyk97 says:

    Well put. I know there aren’t many meteorologists in radio like me, but it’s even more important to tell people they’re in the clear in that medium. I’m the only one who can see the radar, so giving an all-clear is something I also need to do more often. That makes perfect sense!

    I’ll remember that for future severe events that happen around my area. In fact, I may just make an operations procedure folder for just such a thing and leave it in all studios. Sounds like another good project for me and my Operations Manager to tackle tomorrow!

    • Kevin Selle says:

      Excellent point. When those folks are huddled in the bathroom we become radio too. And, we hear from the blind asking us to remember not everyone can see the maps.

      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

