How’d We Do?

In the wake of the latest winter storm (name withheld since I can’t remember what goofy name the national media gave it) I am going to start doing something different.

In addition to looking at my numbers to see if I verified, I’m going to start asking people, “How’d we do?”  The goal is not to prove I can forecast the exact low temperature but to see if the message was delivered and how that message, and the result, compares to people’s expectations.

An interesting thing happens when you ask people their opinion.  They give it.  Not on a phone survey or a rate the performance by filling in a circle from 1 to 5.  My numbers on a spreadsheet show me my accuracy, but the person at the checkout counter doesn’t see my spreadsheet, and you can’t hear their passion by looking at colored circles.

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

