If You Don’t Someone Else Will

Read this.

There was a lot of discussion in the journalism world (mostly newspapers) a few years ago about “partnering” or “cooperating” with hyperlocal bloggers.  A few of the studies I read or conferences I heard about showed that hyperlocal news sources were aching to partner with the “big” local media companies.  In many cases the “bigs” gave some lip service but little substance developed, and we could argue the reasons.

Seth Godin wrote a great book called Tribes a few years ago, you should read it.  It describes people who gather around “things” and how those people are often looking to organize, and many times need little more than a leader to help them do so.

David Drobny is the subject of the article linked above.  I don’t know David but I know he is a Tribe Leader, I don’t think he is making a living from severe weather tweets, I’m sure he loves to communicate with people, and I’m willing to bet he would love to talk to his local television stations about working together.  I wonder if they are as good at sharing as he is.

(UPDATE:  I hope David will forgive my calling him Steve.  No idea where that came from, other than I was trying so hard to spell his last name correctly!)

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

