Building and Borrowing

Construction cranesI’ve been thinking a lot about audiences lately.

You may have heard that some nice folks from Google+ have been reaching out to broadcast meteorologists.  I could be wrong, but I haven’t heard of anyone from Facebook or Twitter calling on any of my colleagues, so, points for G+.

Long time readers, and listeners to WeatherBrains, are well briefed on my thoughts about social media, and using platforms, that aren’t weather platforms, as weather platforms.  I’ve been cautious to say the least, but I get it, that is where the people are.

One of the drumbeats against Google+ has been, “No one is there.”, or, “Everyone in my market is on Facebook or Twitter.”  There is an interesting dynamic at work.  I would submit that you didn’t build your audience on Facebook, you borrowed it.  Those people came for their friends and family.  Remember, when you signed up, you did too.  There were no “brand” pages back in the day.  If you have borrowed that audience, can Facebook take it away?

Will Google+ succeed?  Time will tell.  It is still not a weather platform.  But I will happily use it to build my brands, and that takes time.  No shortcuts.

I hope you will find some time to take part in our Weather Insiders conversations in June, learn more at weatherinsiders.com.  We need to talk about this stuff, and more importantly be proactive.  Someone once said, “Blockbuster should have been Netflix.” I would add that newspapers should have been Craigslist, radio should have been Pandora…and local news should be building, not borrowing.  The best way to “forecast” the future, is to create it.

Blue Box Square WI Logo copy

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

