Old Radar

8907112217_3c50ff7d85Facebook made an announcement today.  You’ll need to read this first to make sense of the rest of this post.

I decode this announcement to say, “Facebook really does not have something called EdgeRank, but today we are announcing that we are replacing EdgeRank with…EdgeRank.

I’m too tired to rant on this, but here is the more important quote for us:

Facebook announced today a new feature that allows older content to reappear at the top of a user’s News Feed later on.

A couple of weeks ago I logged on to my G+ account.  A screenshot radar picture from one of the other meteorologists in my market was on top of the feed.  The image showed a severe thunderstorm in the metro but the problem was, at that moment, that post was an hour and 45 minutes old.  Was that storm currently pounding another part of the market?  Had it weakened?  In this case it had dissipated.

So, extra caution posting radar to social media.  I have no inside information but I’m guessing the “StormEdgeRank” algorithm is not in beta.

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Old Radar

  1. Nate Johnson says:

    But I thought G+ was going to be the social network to solve all our Facebook problems?

  2. I cringe when I see a severe weather post on social media without proper time, date, place and severity info.

  3. We (the NWS) have been pushing to time stamp tweets to avoid a confusion problem with retweets, looks like we also need to remind people to include a time stamp in the Facebook posts as well. I look at this moving target we call social media as job security. It is frustrating trying to stay on top of things, but the challenge keeps me busy.

  4. Pingback: More Old Radar | Digital Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

