Beaten By A Giant Elf

Every Christmas we watch the Will Ferrell movie Elf. It is cute and wholesome, and of course, funny. The company Ferrell cofounded, Funny Or Die, just released…wait for the punchline…a weather app. And…it is good.

humidity

Funny, I’ll broaden that to entertaining, is one of the few things we have left. Yes, I hear the “context” and “explaining” arguments and I believe them to be valid, to a point. My first news director said, “It is okay to use meteorology terms, every now and then. It lets people know you know what you are talking about.” But, your audience does not remember you for that cool jet stream animation you worked so hard to render.

That said, I challenge you to look at your Facebook Page. Check the reach numbers.

reachnumbers

You know, without my example, what gets the most engagement. Yes, rage against the common man for not taking us seriously, but this is the reality of digital and a world of infinite choice. They get to choose what they want.

I’m not suggesting…

comedytwc

What I am suggesting to our parent companies is to enable us to do what we do, on mobile. If we are why they come, we need to be enabled to do what we do everywhere. James Spann regularly decries the “crap apps” on WeatherBrains, and he is right, but they are crappy because they are automated. No personality.

So, I’m off to buy a fuzzy green jacket, wait, that will key out. Some yellow tights.

Hat tip to Nate Johnson for surfacing the app story.

Not sure if I’ll watch Elf this Christmas. My funny bone still stings a little.

elf

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beaten By A Giant Elf

  1. cjwhite2014 says:

    So when I’m out storm chasing should I look for “__elf clouds”? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Let me…entertain you. | Digital Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

