Thud

Hear that thud? Another leg kicked out from under the old model. The National Weather Service Southern Region Headquarters is promoting an experimental mobile web page.

innovation.srh.noaa.gov/NWSwidget takes the user to a mobile ready webpage. Entering a zip code in the mobile browser yields a pretty good looking mobile site, and it has an hourly grid which is popular.

mobilescreen

And it resolves very well on a computer.

nwsweb

It is an interesting choice to not go with a standalone app. The promotion does remind people they can bookmark to the mobile desktop, I wonder how many users know how to do this versus downloading an app. NWS does gain the advantage of not having to deal with an app and iOS versus Android.

Take note…no ads.

Wonder how many legs on this stool of ours.

 

 

 

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thud

  1. RDale says:

    Not only no ads – but the forecast is guaranteed to have had human eyes on it.

  2. I spent the last two wet, frigid, weeks in Dallas and used the new experimental page very extensively, both on my iPhone and on my Safari web browser, to keep an eye on the DFW forecast and forecast for home in Midwest City Oklahoma.

    I sent feeback to the NWS. I like that it can be reduced to widgets on the iPhone screen and I like the hourly forecast. I did suggest that I would very much like to see the current conditions moved to the top of the browser adaptation, in the space between the location and where a zip code can be entered to fetch a forecast for somewhere else.

    To the point of the article: Yes, thud! They have a winner here in my book. I can’t believe the National Weather Service I see today is the same entity that existed back in the mid through late 1980s when I was active in emergency management and storm spotting.

    • Kevin Selle says:

      Agree, Raymond. I think deployment is likely a problem since I assume more people know how to download apps as opposed to favorites, but I suspect there is some politics going on behind the scenes.

Leave a Reply

