Boring, Unmotivated, Non-local, Milktoast…Passion and Prairie Dogs

From Dictionary.com

[milk-tohst]  adjective:  easily dominated; extremely mild; ineffectual; namby-pamby; wishy-washy.

I wonder if we could hear from the corporate office as to why everything must look the same.

This is from Gannett. Can’t remember which market. Doesn’t matter, they all look this way.

gannett

I love taking pictures. I can’t remember the number of times I would dig down in my camera bag and find an undeveloped roll of film (film, by the way, was how us old folks captured images. Film had to be developed before you could see the image). The roll might have been in there for months. Sometimes the images didn’t matter. Firing the shutter is what mattered. It is a passion.

One of the great things about coming to a new market is you are less bound by inertia. “This is the way we’ve always done it,” doesn’t seem to mean as much. It is an excuse to push the edges a bit.

Frustrated with the graphics package I inherited, I started using some of my own images behind the forecast, taking a moment to talk about the shot before revealing the graphics. The prairie dogs are from a hike we took through the Wichita Mountains.

forecastthumbsThese images are far and away the number one comment (other than “Welcome to town.”) I get from viewers. At least a few times a week. This past week I was in the doctor’s office, dealing with kidney stones and clearly not at my best…baseball cap, unshaven and looking like death on a soda cracker. It is quite a thing for more than one person to come up to you in that environment and whisper, “I really enjoy your pictures.”

I’m not suggesting photos for your forecast. What I can feel is how my passion is being seen by my viewers.

We had a pretty good discussion on the topic of TV weather on WeatherBrains this week. It is worth a listen.

Welcome to your new market. Change course. Share your passion. It’ll show. People will appreciate it. (Let me know what you choose.)

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boring, Unmotivated, Non-local, Milktoast…Passion and Prairie Dogs

  1. RDale says:

    Great episode of WxBrains…

Leave a Reply

