Tick, tick, tick, tick…

facebookfullweather

I’ve seen small weather updates at the top of my Facebook feed for some time now but this is new. It popped up on top of my feed on Sunday night. Particularly interested in the “See more weather info” at the bottom. I didn’t click on it but I do wonder what was there and now it is gone. Will there be a “Get Weather Forecast” link permanently soon? Seems logical. Dropping a forecast in my feed at random intervals is okay, I guess. Will I be able to get a forecast on demand soon? I haven’t seen that button. Have you?

A couple of years ago I had a chance to visit with Vic Gundota who is the person responsible for Google+. I was ready to tell him that all we needed was a few adjustments and weather information would rocket Google+ to new heights. What I learned was how difficult it is for a global platform to make any accommodation to one special interest group because every other group would then get in line and that can’t scale. Makes sense, and yet, there is the weather on top of my feed.

I joined a Facebook Group the other day called, News, Media & Publishing on Facebook:

News, Media & Publishing on Facebook! This is where the Facebook News Partnerships team shares Facebook Media product updates, and hosts discussions about strategies for news organizations.

News Partnership team sounds pretty good. I posted a comment on a recent post about news coverage. I introduced myself, was upfront about being a vocal Facebook critic, and asked about research or information specific to weather. The admin who made the post “liked” my comment but made no reply. I posted again a day or two later. No reply. I sent a friend request to the admin. Still waiting.

The top of the image above says, “What’s on your mind?” Here it is. The Internet eats middlemen and we are in the middle. The clock is ticking and we had better get creative…fast.

About Kevin Selle

Chief Meteorologist, KFDX-TV. Co-host, WeatherBrains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tick, tick, tick, tick…

  1. Rob Dale says:

    Clicking the “see more” takes you to the weather.com forecast for your area…

    • Kevin Selle says:

      Yup. Figured as much. Also learned that there is a bot now for TWC on Facebook Messenger. It’ll “talk” back. Very basic right now but we know IBM’s Watson learns fast.

Leave a Reply

